Chief Academic Officer
Commerce & Management


Ph.D., Bharathiar University 2019
M.B.A (Fin.), MK University 2017
M.Phil.(Com.), MK University 2003
M.Com.(Gen), Manomaniam Sundaranar University 2001


Teaching Experience: 13 Years
Research/Industrial Experience: 10 Years
Administrative & Managerial Experience: 01 Year Technical Papers Published: 14
Books Authored: 05

I was born in a small village in Tamil Nadu and have always been around nature and greenery. I did my basic schooling from a small government primary school near to my house. It was so close to my house that I would leave for school once the school bell rang. For higher schooling education, I joined Kamaraj Higher Secondary School which was 5 Km away from my house. I used to walk to school every day until 8th standard. Thereafter my father bought me a bicycle which I used to ride to school. During school days, I had lot of fun with my friends and would take part in lot of physical activities. Though I was an average student until 10th standard, I found a remarkable change in my grades after I chose Commerce in college and realized how inclined I was towards that stream. My performance improved to such an extent that I became a class topper.

I was the most studious child in my family and used to always ask questions to my teachers. I graduated from Govindhammal Women’s college and then completed my Master’s from Sarah Tucker College. During my college days, I spent around 4 hours of to and fro travelling daily to seek education. For my mother securing one degree was sufficient for a girl but my father was adamant that I should study further and took lot of interest in my education.

While pursuing masters, I would constantly keep thinking that I need to enrol for a professional course like CA, ICWA rather than doing a basic Commerce course. That is why when I decided to do ICWA. After completing M.Com, I moved to Chennai and completed ICWA-inter and in the due course of time I even completed M Phil. While waiting for ICWA stage II result, I thought of doing something different than my set routine. Thus, I applied for a lecturer’s post in Sridevi Arts and Science College in the year 2003 & was selected. This was the beginning of my teaching profession. The life in that college was simple and I got lot of opportunities to learn, and because of my loyalty, sincerity and dedication I was soon promoted as HOD of the Commerce department.

The real challenge came in when I came to Mumbai, the city of dreams after my marriage. Being born and brought up in a small village in Tamil Nadu with 4years of work experience in a college in suburban area of Chennai, I realized that there were things that I had to cope up with while living in Mumbai. The biggest challenge was language. I did not know Hindi and Marathi. But over the period of time, I learnt to speak Hindi and can mange to understand Marathi to an intermittent level. However, after came to Mumbai I was determined to restart my teaching profession and started my professional life by teaching in SIES College, Sion –E in 2011.

In 2013, I joined VSIT and since then, I am associated with this institution. Actually I wanted to pursue MBA after B.Com, but could not do so due to some financial constraints. But I never let my dream fade away, today I am NET qualified, with an MBA and Ph.D. Being a Ph.D holder was one of my father’s dream which I fulfilled. Though it was not easy as I had to manage my house, take care of kids, manage the professional life and then find time for personal growth which I believe is a challenge for any working women. However, I consider myself fortunate as it’s all been possible because of my children’s moral support that I could handle all my responsibilities well and successfully complete my Ph.D.

I personally feel, that whatever I am today is because of my efforts to enhance my knowledge and skills, willingness to learn new things, ability to think and act for the benefits of students and convert all my problems and obstacles into a ladder to grow further.